TCC 2009: Call for Papers

Important dates:


March 15-17, 2009

Submission Deadline

September 30, 2008 17:00 EDT

Notification of decision

December 2, 2008

Proceedings version due

December 23, 2008

Conference site:
Submission site:

The sixth Theory of Cryptography Conference will be held in San Francisco, California, USA , organized by Stanford University and sponsored by the International Association for Cryptologic Research (IACR). Papers presenting original research on foundational and theoretical aspects of cryptography are sought.

The Theory of Cryptography Conference deals with the paradigms, approaches, and techniques used to conceptualize natural cryptographic problems and provide algorithmic solutions to them. More specifically, the scope of the conference includes, but is not limited to the:


The Theory of Cryptography Conference is dedicated to the dissemination of results within its scope. The conference aims to provide a meeting place for researchers and to be instrumental in shaping the identity of the theoretical cryptography community.

Instructions for authors: The submission should begin with a title, followed by the names, affiliations and contact information of all authors, and a short abstract. It should contain a scholarly exposition of ideas, techniques, and results, including motivation and a clear comparison with related work. Submissions should be typeset with 11pt or larger font and reasonable spacing and margins. They should not exceed 12 letter-sized pages, not counting the title page, bibliography and appendices. Reviewers are not required to read appendices; the paper should be intelligible without them. Submissions must not substantially duplicate work that was published elsewhere, or work that any of the authors has submitted in parallel to any other conference or workshop that has proceedings. The evaluation process is not anonymous. Authors of accepted papers are expected to present their paper at the conference.

Submission instructions: Papers must be submitted electronically through the submission web page. Electronic submissions must conform to the procedure described in the submission server and must be received by the deadline indicated above. Electronic submission via the described interface is the only form of submission considered.

Best student paper award: This prize is for the best paper authored solely by students, where a student is a person that is considered a student by the respective institution at the time of the paper's submission. Eligibility must be indicated in the "Comments to Chair" at the time of submission. The program committee may decline to make the award, or may split it among several papers.

Proceedings: Proceedings will be published in Springer-Verlag's Lecture Notes in Computer Science Series and will be available at the conference. Instructions for preparing the final proceedings version will be sent to the authors of accepted papers. The final copies of the accepted papers will be due on December 23, 2008. This is a strict deadline, and authors should prepare accordingly.

Program Committee:

Ivan Damgaard (University of Aarhus)

Stefan Dziembowski (University of Rome)

Marc Fischlin (Darmstadt University)

Matthew Franklin (UC Davis)

Jens Groth (University College London)

Thomas Holenstein (Microsoft Research)

Nicholas J. Hopper (University of Minnesota)

Yuval Ishai (Technion and UCLA)

Charanjit Jutla (IBM Watson)

Daniele Micciancio (UC San Diego)

Kobbi Nissim (Ben-Gurion)

Adriana M. Palacio (Bowdoin)

Rafael Pass (Cornell)

Manoj M Prabhakaran (Urbana-Champaign)

Omer Reingold (Weizmann, chair)

Yael Tauman Kalai (Microsoft Research)

Brent Waters (UT Austin)

John Watrous (University of Waterloo)


Program Chair: Omer Reingold
General chair: Dan Boneh

TCC Steering Committee Members: Mihir Bellare, Ivan Damgard, Oded Goldreich (chair), Shafi Goldwasser, Johan Hastad, Russell Impagliazzo, Ueli Maurer, Silvio Micali, Moni Naor, and Tatsuaki Okamoto.